A Way To Be Perfectly Happy

Merve Yılmaz
7 min readJan 9, 2023

--

Photo by Todd Rhines on Unsplash

For a while, I have been talking about the problems in my life and how I try to overcome them. I constantly create various goals and challenges for myself because I am not satisfied with where I am and want more.

I have constantly and perhaps for my entire life searching for how to do things better. Sometimes I got stuck in what I couldn’t do and couldn’t progress. But I don’t accept giving up trying and striving. I will continue to search for how to be better, and feel better.

In this article, I will talk to you about a few methods that have helped me try to feel better and find balance in my life, both materially and spiritually. These methods are affirmations, keeping a gratitude journal, and creating a vision board.

I’m sure these are not unfamiliar concepts to you, but I want to talk about my own experiences and how I integrated them into my life because believe me, it was not easy.

I have often talked to you in my writings about keeping a gratitude journal and how it has made me feel good, and I have recommended it a lot. In addition, I have heard for a long time about how affirmations and vision boards have helped people feel better.

I decided to make these personal development tools a part of my daily life. But it can be quite difficult to organize things that don’t have financial gain. After all, aren’t we the most ruthless with ourselves?

After deciding to regularly integrate all these powerful personal development tools into my life, I came across an application and started using it. The name of this application is the Perfectly Happy app. The name promised a lot and I thought it was worth a try.

I have been using this app every day for a full month. And when I consider the developments in my life, I wanted you to know about them. But what’s important are the methods, it doesn’t matter how you do it. You can use a pencil and paper or you can use your laptop.

In this article, you will find:

• What are Vision Board, Affirmations & Gratitude Journal?

• How a mobile app, Perfectly Happy, helped me integrate all of these into my life and what has changed in my life?

What is a Vision Board?

A vision board is a visual representation of your goals and desires. It helps you focus on what you want and encourages you to take the necessary steps to achieve it.

Famous stars like Idris Elba, Arnold Schwarzenegger, Beyonce, and even geniuses like Tesla and Einstein have all talked about visualizing their dreams.

For example, in an interview with MTV in 2009, Katy Perry said that her teacher had her create her vision boards with pictures of things she wanted in life and she has been doing this ever since.

Oprah Winfrey, one of the most successful women in the world, frequently talks about the importance of believing in something to achieve it in life.

“Create the highest and biggest vision possible for your life, because you will become what you believe.”

We could add many more quotes from successful people about visualization here. In fact, for centuries, successful people have used the scientifically proven practice of visualization and affirmations to achieve their goals and live happier lives.

The Perfectly Happy Vision Board app combines these powerful techniques in one easy-to-use mobile app. With the app, you can create your personalized vision board in just a few minutes and easily combine your photos with images from the web or thousands of images provided by the app.

Also the app allows you to create vision boards in various areas but there are two areas in my life that I am particularly obsessed with and want to improve: my health and career. That’s why I initially used the app to create vision boards for these two topics.

After I started using the app and creating my vision board, I began to see things in a new light. I started focusing on the positive aspects of my life and what I wanted to achieve, and I began to feel more motivated and focused. Vision boards helped me develop a more positive mindset and gave me the confidence to pursue my goals with renewed energy.

What are Affirmations?

Affirmations are positive statements that you repeat to yourself, either out loud or in your head, to create a positive mindset and overcome negative thoughts. Affirmations can be about anything, such as self-love, confidence, prosperity, or health.

Words matter! Our thoughts are shaped by the words we use. We can influence others with our words, and we can also influence ourselves. It probably happened to you that a compliment changed your mood instantly when you were feeling bad. That’s exactly the energy of those words affecting you.

It’s important to pay attention to what you tell yourself because you will reap what you sow. That’s why there is a method called affirmations, and people try to attract happiness in themselves this way.

In Turkey, elders often say: if you say something 40 times, it will happen. This is usually said when bad words are repeated a lot. For example, if you keep saying I feel like something bad is going to happen to me, they might say if you say something 40 times, it will happen, so be quiet.

Why couldn’t the opposite be true as well? If you say I will be successful 40 times, what is the chance that this will come true?

In the app I use, there are many great affirmations. You can match these with the photos you’ve chosen for your vision board and create videos for yourself, or listen to them out loud.

I’m trying to create a routine. So, sometimes I just listen to them to get it done. But the times when I feel the most benefit and an increase in my energy are when I review my vision board before bed and listen to my affirmations.

The app’s notifications have been on for a month now, and I’ve allowed the app to share affirmations with me throughout the day. But I never would have thought it would have such a big impact.

Sometimes, during a very busy day, I forget myself but the app reminds me of how valuable I am. Or when I’m trying to change my career and I’m stressed out about what I can’t do, it reminds me that I can do anything I want.

One of the biggest benefits of affirmations is that it helps you gain a new perspective on your life. Before I started affirmation I was constantly stressing out about my job and other responsibilities, and I wasn’t living the life I truly wanted.

P.S. As I am writing this, I have just received a notification! It says: “I choose happiness in my life.”

Also, there is the

What is a Gratitude Journal?

A gratitude journal is a place where you write down things you are grateful for each day. This helps you focus on the positive aspects of your life and can improve your overall well-being.

For my gratitude journal, I try to write down at least three things I am grateful for each day. Some days it is easy to come up with things, and other days it takes more effort. But no matter how hard it is, I try to find something.

Your gratitude doesn’t have to be big things. Don’t stress yourself out trying to think of them. Sometimes I’m grateful for the coffee I had or even the air I’m breathing. Whatever makes me happy doesn’t have to be a big thing.

The app also has a gratitude journal feature. I enjoy writing on paper because it draws me in, but the reality is that it’s not always possible to sit down with a pen and paper and create an ambiance.

However, our phones are always within reach these days. I’ve been really busy lately and sometimes I forget or skip writing in my gratitude journal in the morning. In times like these, when it comes to my mind, I feel good about going into my phone and writing down the things I am grateful for.

I try to use vision board, affirmation, and gratitude journal methods daily, although some days are better than others.

The Perfectly Happy Vision Board, Affirmations & Gratitude Journal app is a powerful tool that has helped me gain a new perspective and improve my life in countless ways. If you’re looking to visualize and manifest your goals, and live a happier, more fulfilling life, this app is a must-have.

Overall, the app has been a great tool for me in my personal development journey. It has helped me to stay organized, motivated, and focused on my goals and affirmations. I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking to improve their well-being and find balance in their life. However, there is no one-size-fits-all approach to finding happiness. It’s important to find what works for you and what brings you joy. I wish you the best on your journey towards happiness.

P.S. If you’re interested here is the link to the app: perfectlyhappy.com

--

--

Merve Yılmaz

• UX Designer •Istanbul Technical University •Top writer in Self Improvement, Health, Life Lessons & Life.