Do these 5 things if you don’t get respect you deserve

Merve Yılmaz
3 min readAug 23, 2022

--

Do you think people don’t show you the respect you deserve? The reason may be here.

Photo by Claudio Schwarz on Unsplash

Maybe you show the respect people more than they deserve. It could possible that you’re doing your best. However, don’t you see the value you deserve despite your hard work? If your answer is yes, then think about how many of the explanations you are making, and take your next steps accordingly.

1. Express your views.

If you don’t express your opinions, people don’t respect you. If you always say “it doesn’t matter to me” when a decision is made, no one cares about your opinion. If you don’t share your opinion people can’t know you have one. Don’t be afraid to speak your mind. I want to do this, I want to go here, I want to eat this…Have your own wishes and your own preferences.

2. Forgive but not forget.

Of course, you can forgive. Events that we do not forgive continue to annoy and tire us. So, forgiveness is a good thing. But there is a big difference between forgiving and forgetting. You can forgive someone who has wronged you but remember what they did. After you forgive that person, don’t move on as if nothing happened. If you continue as if nothing happened, the other party will think that you will not react no matter what they do to you. Remember, if the person made a mistake on you once, he/she can do the 2nd.

3. Let people discover you.

If you are constantly trying to explain yourself to those around you and prove that you are lovable, people will not respect you. It always backfires. This is a situation that I have observed a lot in human relations, as you try to prove yourself, you fall out of favor. If someone loves you already, you don’t need to do anything. Don’t explain yourself, let people discover you.

4. Tell when you offended.

Tell someone when you are offended. Some people don’t know their limits, especially if the other person is quiet. Those people may talk sluggishly, such as whether you have gained weight, whether you have a body like this, or whether you can’t even do that. The list could go on, but I’m sure you understand the people I’m talking about. If you keep silent, these people will continue to talk even increase the dose of their comments.

If you’re afraid to react emotionally, you don’t have to react right away. If you still feel offended after 24 hours, you should tell that person your thoughts. If he/she is a good person, he/she has not consciously treated you that way and will change his/her behavior. You decide how people will treat you. Don’t be afraid to show your reaction.

5. Make your own decisions

Everyone wants to hear that they are valuable. After all, man is a social being. The nice things people say to you matter. But don’t determine your own worth just by what people say. How do you think? Do you think I did well? Do you think he loves me?

When you constantly wait for approval from people, the people you expect approval from think they are world, and you are the moon. Don’t always ask other people. If you want respect, trust your own opinions.

You may think that we should always make calculations in human relations. I know it is very tiring to act by thinking all the time, but unfortunately the world is such a place. The world is a very difficult place for sensitive hearts. If you want respect, you have to say no and treat yourself fairly.

If you don’t get the respect you deserve, you may be making some of the above mistakes. I hope you get the respect and love you want in this life. I wish you the best.

30 days ago, I started a 50-day challenge. One of my goals is in this process to share a post on Medium every day. I am very happy to see my followers increase on this journey. I would appreciate it if you would support me and accompany me on my journey. I hope to see you around.

--

--

Merve Yılmaz

• UX Designer •Istanbul Technical University •Top writer in Self Improvement, Health, Life Lessons & Life.