Must-See Places in Turkey: Fethiye

Merve Yılmaz
4 min readOct 11, 2022

--

5 things make Fethiye so special

Fethiye

Hi everyone! Today I am here to share another corner that must be seen in Turkey. For a while ago, I completed important challenge for me. (If you follow me for a while you might know what I am talking about: My big fat 50-day challenge. But if you are new here, don’t worry. This article doesn’t include it. Whatever, let’s turn the main subject.) After I completed my challenge, I decided to treat myself to a holiday that I didn’t go for a year.

As you understand, I went to Fethiye. In addition, I wish everyone on earth find a chance to visit this tiny town. If you start thinking how much a place could be that special, keep reading this post.

Why you should see Fethiye?

Turkey is a very broad country. It’s almost nineteen times bigger than Holland (Resource). Fethiye is in the west part of Turkey. The town is part of the country’s Mediterranean area.

Location in Turkey

1. Ölüdeniz

With warm beaches and green forests, the town shows us Mediterranean characteristics. Especially Ölüdeniz beach which in the Fethiye, is one of the most famous beaches in the world. Sea, sand, and sun make Fethiye a tourism center.

I enjoy swimming in the sea, but Ölüdeniz is more like a swimming pool. Pool like a sea. It’s even better! Since there are hardly any waves, swimming in the ocean is more pleasant. In addition, the water is warm nearly all of the time (April to October).

Ölüdeniz

2. Butterfly valley (Turkish: Kelebekler Vadisi)

The valley takes its name from the butterflies it hosts. A wide-strip sand beach at a bay on the Turkish Riviera protrudes from the valley.

P.S: Sailboats are using to go to the valley.

Butterfly Valley

3. Saklıkent Canyon

Saklıkent Canyon, one of the most special places in the Mediterranean, is a natural wonder that you must see.

The length of the canyon, which is estimated to have formed as a result of a geological crack thousands of years ago, is approximately 18 km, and its height varies between 200 and 600 meters.

Saklıken Canyon

4. History

As an urban planner, I can easily say that if there is the sea (for trade), mountains (for protection), and fertile soils then there is a long history. Meanwhile, Fethiye has these three components and broad history.

The history consists of Persian to Bizayntian, Greek to Ottoman. Ghost town (Turkish: Kayaköy) is a good example that shows us part of Fethiye’s history.

The ghost town was built by the Greeks living in the region in the 11th century according to some sources, and in the 14th century according to others, on the ruins of Karmylassos city belonging to the Ancient Lycian Civilization.

With the population exchange after the War of Independence, the Greeks left this place and the whole city was left empty.

Ghost Town

5. Sports

If you like rafting and paragliding, then there is another reason to see Fethiye for you. Paragliding in Fethiye is very popular for people who love this adventurous sport. In addition, with its 26-kilometer rafting course, Dalaman Stream is an ambitious option for groups of friends who want to spend hours full of adrenaline.

I didn’t experience paragliding and rafting in Fethiye because it was way out of my budget. In Turkey, some famous touristic locations are actually for foreign tourists. I mean, they consider prices in dollars and euros.

In summary, considering the exchange rate difference in the country, this option was out of the question for me.

Paragliding in Fethiye

I am fascinated by Fethiye’s nature and history. While in the Ölüdeniz sea, I feel like I am a part of nature. Like a tiny drop in the ocean that is called the universe. If you have a chance to do paragliding, I believe you will feel more powerful feelings than me.

In addition, my family came from Greek with population exchange. So, seeing what population exchange looks like is also something for me. Even if there is no similar history in your past, you can be part of what already existed.

Final words;

I appreciate you taking the time to read and support me. I would love to hear from you! Please leave your thoughts in the comments below, and if you enjoyed don’t forget to clap. I hope to see you again soon.

--

--

Merve Yılmaz

• UX Designer •Istanbul Technical University •Top writer in Self Improvement, Health, Life Lessons & Life.